Traffic Light Cookies

So we are now down to the last week and what I call the ‘Baking days of xmas’  (or at least 1-2 before you host or travel to visit family and friends) So being as you may see this week the same as I do (baked goods jsut don’t taste as good if you have to freeze or refrigerate them for awhile. They should be as fresh as possible and for Chocolate Chip and Sugar Cookies.. should be served right out of the oven (they taste like a warm hug!)

So to get to the point  I can across a recipe for one of my favorite cookies, but they missed a couple things

 

The main name for them is Rainbow cookies, everyone knows them by this. My landlords are italian I’m part and we never heard of them called Italian xmas cookies… There’s nothing italian about them except the color (and yellow is the middle color not white like the Italian flag)

I personally call them TRAFFIC light cookies as they are the colors of a traffic light. My Uncle always bought a box for me for the holidays, so I noticed this when I was at least a toddler or in first few school years, so it stuck and anyone in my family co-workers and some friends know what I mean when I call them that. Put it this way: the first holiday season I celebrated at my first job when customers would bring in cookie plates… everyone learned quick Kim MUST have at least one of them cookies and I WILL mow you down for it! (Same for the brownies made by one of the ladies upstairs)

Now reading through this recipe… there’s a few things that are off

They originally had the taste of almond extract (or used) paste in between (now some use raspberry, some use apricot) If you can find the Entamenn’s brand and try them, They are the closest tasting to what the cookies tasted like from the bakeries in the 80s!

Also the jam goes between the 2 layers NOT under the chocolate & there was a bottom layer of chocolate as well….

 

Rainbow Cookie recipe

I love feedback and comments, for me these show truely how much you enjoyed the articles review and so on.

