Yuca Receipes

0

I had tried the Yucca fries from a Whole Foods store before and Loved them. Sadly it seems anything new I like gets discontinued in some way. The last few times I’ve gone they have not had the fries.

Well I noticed in the flyer for the grocery store near my Aunt (where I was hanging out when they went on vacation to feed their cats)  had them for 79 cents a piece (or was it a pound I forget) . So I thought that was a great price to try making my own! So I’ve been looking for recipes. I even saw one for some sort of drink.

Basically anything you use a potato for, you can use Yucca root for.

However being as I was at my Aunt’s I had changed my mind on making them there, even when experimenting, it’s best to use the kitchen & utensils you are familiar with.

So being at home today and in a decent mood plus it’s cool and comfy, I thought I’d finally make the darn thing. To start You need to pare the outside of it (when you seek a pink color you’ve found the last layer to strip off) after all of this you may want to boil it whole or try cutting it in half (it is hard to cut this darn thing & the reason to boil first)

I went with making a cross between two of the recipes. The one at the end from the link above I made the garlic sauce,

Yuca Fries (Yuca)Yucca Fries (Yuca) picture

Prep: 20m

  MAKE AHEAD: The boiled yucca can be refrigerated for up to 2 days before using for this recipe.

Ingredients [?]
  •    sea salt
  •    peanut oil
  •   2 lbs yucca root, peeled and cut into 2 ” X 1/2-inch fry sticks (yucca should be firm and unblemished)

Instructions

  1. Boil yuca in a large pot of lightly salted1. boil Yuca water on high for 10 minutes. Add one cup of water to the pan and return to a boil. Continue to boil for about another 5 minutes, until tender. Drain and dry completely.

(I don’t know what kind of stove to this person who wrote the recipe has but it took 40 minutes, though my yuca I think  could have used maybe another 10-20 or more. Oh and  after boiling, the yuca is good for up to 2 days

DSCN58062. Pull out all stringy fibers & the woody core

It’s not really stringy more like a thin stem on the inside, plus the brown stuff.

 

 

3. In a deep-fryer or your usual stove-top pot you DSCN5805deep fry in, heat 2 inches of oil to 350°.Divide the yucca into 4 batches and fry until golden brown, about 2 to 5 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, carefully place the yucca on a paper towel covered plate or rack to drain. Sprinkle with sea salt and serve at once.

DSCN58044. This one has a garlic sauce recipe  which is quite simple,

*Garlic
*Olive Oil (1-2 shot glasses)
*some Lemon juice
*Onion finely chopped (optional as I don’t like onion)
So with a mortar & pestle after cutting the garlic as thin as I could, I pretended to be Hulk & Smashed away!  (and had a spoon to get the garlic out of the corners and bring everything to the middle) Remember the finer the garlic the more potent it will be so You will have to adjust with the olive oil accordingly.
I love garlic so I made mine more potent, so If you are a person that is not keen on potent garlic, then just drizzle the olive oil on it. You can use the garlic for something (as a rub or garnish) with dinner as these were a between time snack.

 

